Climate Change Institute
Education Direct Action Justice Innovation Stewardship


We relentlessly advocate for meaningful economic and political transformation in order to protect the planet and restore the well being of our collective home. We strive to promote excellence in sustainability and boldness in climate action by giving out the Climate Courage Awards annually to those in our civil society who buck the pressures to do otherwise and demonstrate extraordinary responsibility in helping address global climate change.

  • CCLI espouses the tenet of leading by example and we strive to set a good example by our organization's own activities. We are also on-going in the process of developing our brand of integrity oriented environmental stewardship.
  • We provide personal & collective ways for people to be the change we wish to seek in the world:

Click below to help boycott fossil fuels:
7F project

Click below to be a power pledge steward:
Power Pledge

  • We give out Climate Courage Awards and provide recipients with as much financial and media recognition as possible (see the history of recipients below).

2023 Climate Courage Award Winner

Our Children's Trust

For honorably representing young people and defending their right to a healthy and livable climate

Our Children's Trust- Read More

- Recipient Response Letter 

Past Climate Courage Award Winners

Yvon Chouinard, The Founder of Patagonia

For breaking the mold for how business can lead in solving the climate crisis

Yvon Chouinard- Read More

Casey Harrell

for extraordinary dedication and crucial success holding US corporations and Wall Street accountable for fostering a livable climate.

Casey Harrell - Read More

Robert Pollin and Noam Chomsky

for calling on our society to respond to the climate crisis with utmost seriousness and for proposing a global solution that is not only bold and viable but also replete with the need for a just transition.

Robert Pollin and Noam Chomsky - Read More
- Response Letter 

Aspen, Jonathon, Lilith & Sierra

to four outstanding youth for their leadership, community activism and hopeful dedication to addressing the climate crisis and for their stellar participation in the Sept 20 2019 Climate Strike

Aspen, Jonathon, Lilith & Sierra - Read More

2018 - Governor Jerry Brown

for outstanding leadership to restore the stability of our climate & in- integrity of our nation. A seed grant in his name goes to Under2 Coalition, working to prevent global temperatures from rising over two degrees Celsius.

Governor Jerry Brown - Read More

2017 - Mayor Javier Gonzales

for his commitment to climate leadership, the Verde Fund (helping alleviate poverty through sustainability) & EV solutions

Mayor Javier Gonzales - Read More

2016 - Senator Bernie Sanders

for his unwavering commitment to addressing climate change and supporting a carbon tax as a platform priority

Senator Bernie Sanders Award - Read More
- Response Letter 

2015 - Mariel Nanasi New Energy Economy

Mariel Nanasi Award - Read More  

2014 - Robert and William Nordhaus
(for their respective work regulating carbon dioxide under the clean air act and establishing carbon pricing as viable solutions to climate change)

Robert Nordhaus Award - Read More  
William Nordhaus Award - Read More  

2013 - Stephen Etsitty
Navajo Nation EPA

- Read More  

2012 - Lisa P. Jackson
EPA Administrator

- Read More  
- Response Letter 

2011 - Bill McKibben
the New Energy Economy

- Read More  
- Response Letter 

2010 - John Fogarty
the New Energy Economy

- Read More  
2010 - Bruce Frederick
New Mexico Environmental Law Center

- Read More  
2009 - Suedeen Kelly
Commissioner of FERC from 2003-2009

- Read More  
2008 - T. Boone Pickens
- Read More  PDF
2007 - Ben Luce
Director of the Coalition
for Clean and Affordable
Energy (CCAE)

- Read More
2006 - Thomas Friedman
Foregin Affairs Columnist
for the New York Times

- Read More  PDF
2005 - Danny Cruz
Mayor of Springer NM

- Read More  PDF

Climate Courage Awards are given out once a year to humanitarians in our civil society who exhibit outstanding bravery and leadership on behalf of global climate stewardship. There is no limit to the kinds of courage we can display for the sake of asserting responsibility to future generations, and we are determined to publicize and reward these stellar acts of climate courage.

Home  |  About the Founder  |  Contact Us  |  Contribute  |  Climate Courage Awards  |  Grant Process and Guidelines
Phone: 505.988.3364  ©2005